ECK ([info]evercool) wrote,
@ 2009-06-25 22:22:00
Previous Entry  Add to memories!  Tell a Friend  Next Entry
Current mood: confused
Entry tags:art, confusion, spam, wtf

Scam targeting artists???
Wtf does this seem legitimate to you guys? The reason it doesn't to me is because the only art I have posted online is fanart. All of my scenery, original and realistic drawing was only ever showed in school and not online. I have this feeling such a thing as the following would not include fanart:

7/17/09-8/23/09

Hi,
We have came across your work online and we would like to invite you to participate in our coming exhibition.This exhibition will feature 200 artists from around the world. Invitations will be sent to over 40,000 collectors, and fellow artists. Your works will also be feature on our website and for purchase online.
Idea:
Each artist will have a 40(L)x30(H) space to display their artwork of choice. Artist's can have as many pieces as you want as long as it doesn't go over the 40" x 30" space. Make sure that each piece are ready to hang and is less than 2 lbs. Also, please be sure to mail in a picture/chart of how you want your pieces to be displayed.

We will be picking one artist from this exhibition to presents a solo exhibition at our gallery. We will also be picking 10 artists to present a group exhibition as well.
All artists are guaranteed to be featured in this exhibition upon completion of registration.
AWARD: SOLO Exhibition

Entry Fee: $50

Visit http://apwartgallery.com/Call_for_Artist.html for more information. Deadline: July 1, 2009. Questions? Please contact APW Gallery at info@apwarts.com

For more information click Here

/end email.


....whut. If they are real, they kind of fail.;;;

Edit: they are totally at least partially a scam. Thanks guys. xD


~ECK ♥



(20 comments) - (Post a new comment)


[info]irishdescence
2009-06-26 06:07 am UTC (link)
Seems legitimate to me but we can't be very sure. Maybe you can ask the sender about it? o.o

(Reply to this) (Thread)


[info]evercool
2009-06-26 06:15 pm UTC (link)
Varying reviews on the internet make it sound half scam half legit.;;; I wouldn't pay that much any way though, at least. xD

(Reply to this) (Parent)


[info]dev_chieftain
2009-06-26 06:34 am UTC (link)
Totally sounds like a scam, but you can check by looking them up by the name they're claiming to go by. Search the internet! If they're legit, they should have a webpage and press already. If they're not, they won't, and might even have scam notices from people who've been taken in before.

(Reply to this) (Thread)


[info]evercool
2009-06-26 06:16 pm UTC (link)
It's weird cuz some people said they worked and some people said it was a scam. Either way I wouldn't do it since I have nothing but fanart to offer atm and wouldn't pay that much, but that's so odd. xD

(Reply to this) (Parent)


[info]kykou_yk
2009-06-26 06:45 am UTC (link)
I think that its really bold for them to send an e-mail that's not already bugged if it was a scam.
Go for researching them like crazy 8D?

(Reply to this) (Thread)


[info]evercool
2009-06-26 06:27 pm UTC (link)
Yeah, researching showed they actually exist but are, at least partially, a scam? XD Weirdos.

(Reply to this) (Parent)


[info]hoshi3
2009-06-26 06:52 am UTC (link)
Yeeeeah, I'd ask about it. Call if there's a number listed.

(Reply to this) (Thread)


[info]evercool
2009-06-26 06:18 pm UTC (link)
I call scam. They do have numbers and a map and everything though. xD

(Reply to this) (Parent)


[info]infini_iv
2009-06-26 06:58 am UTC (link)
I'd disregard it as a scam just because of the failed grammar and sentence structure. Could be legit still, but it seems pretty suspicious.

The only thing is that the website shows a physical location for their store. I'd see if there's any confirmation of that address anywhere else.

Hope things are going well for you, aside from potentially-suspicious e-mails. xD ♥

(Reply to this) (Thread)


[info]evercool
2009-06-26 06:18 pm UTC (link)
Yeah the website is what threw me off. Google searching made it seem like they really do have a gallery there too, but it still sounds like a scam.

Things are going okay, as long as I don't get laid off in July. 8D;;;; What about you? ♥

(Reply to this) (Parent)(Thread)


[info]infini_iv
2009-06-26 10:02 pm UTC (link)
Augh, I hope you don't get laid off in July. D:

I'm still somewhat unemployed and poor and sad. Not much has changed, though I might be moving to Toronto! To an apartment!

(Reply to this) (Parent)


[info]anyjen
2009-06-26 08:22 am UTC (link)
Eh, no, it doesn't sound legitimate. My sister is an artist, and she's participated in several art exhibitions with an entry fee, but:

1. Even when you do have to pay an entrance fee, they state clearly that not all works will be chosen for display

2. A solo exhibition (sorry, a SOLO exhibition) is too much for a first prize. Most artists won't even have enough material for one, anyway.

3. Where is this gallery of theirs they keep mentioning? which country? state? city?

4. While grammar mistakes can be often found in the e-mails in English sent from places where English is not the official language (my sister still keep the invitation to an exhibition in Japan which makes me want to attack it with a red pen every time I look at it), they still don't add much credibility.

5. Since when do artists get to pick where and how they works will be displayed? These things are usually decided by the owners of the gallery and they group works according to the tematic. Speaking of which...

6. The fact that they didn't state which kinds of works will be accepted pretty much gives this away as a scam.

I wouldn't even click that link if I were you. Chances are, there will be a nice, big, fat virus waiting for you at the other end, or at least standard spyware.

The morale of this, boys and girls? Don't send fifty dollars and one of your works of art to an art gallery that can't even guarantee its own existance.

(Reply to this) (Thread)


[info]evercool
2009-06-26 06:29 pm UTC (link)
3. They do have a map and do seem to have an actual gallery, from their website and actually looking them up on the internet. That's what originally threw me off about their legitimacy.

But yeah, at least partially, they definitely seem like a scam otherwise!

(Reply to this) (Parent)


[info]wedlock
2009-06-26 08:23 am UTC (link)
lolol steep entry fee, man. Yeah I'd call it a scam, but if you're unsure just investigate further XD

(Reply to this)


[info]hitokiri_naveed
2009-06-26 09:13 am UTC (link)
I got one of these a couple years ago, ah I thought I put it up somewhere in my LJ but I can't find it right now =/, anyhow it was totally a scam. They had a website too and just a little digging around pretty much proved they weren't legit. They might have had a phone number, but honestly, it's pretty easy to set up a 'business phone number', my small group got one when we first started setting up a conference in order to look more legit.

I played with them for a little bit through email just to get some kicks.

Edited at 2009-06-26 09:13 am UTC

(Reply to this)


[info]yaoikitten
2009-06-26 04:33 pm UTC (link)
My fiancee is a professional artist and he has NEVER had to pay to show his work in an exhibition. If there is an entry fee, it is a scam. Ignore, ignore. Or triangulate the IP address and report it to the local police. ^_^

(Reply to this)


[info]engelen
2009-06-26 04:40 pm UTC (link)
the fee seems a bit too high...

(Reply to this)


[info]safetypinscars
2009-06-26 06:09 pm UTC (link)
I'm always really wary of emails like that, especially when it involves money lol Sounds kinda sketch.

(Reply to this)


[info]sapphiren
2009-07-14 12:52 pm UTC (link)
hmmm, I got the same letter some days ago.

(Reply to this)


[info]sapphiren
2009-07-14 01:03 pm UTC (link)
but I have another deadline - Sep 1, 2009.

(Reply to this)


(20 comments) - (Post a new comment)

Create an Account
Forgot your login or password?
Login w/ OpenID
English • Español • Deutsch • Русский…